Home Local News COVID-19 delayed national awards finally presented

COVID-19 delayed national awards finally presented

by Pointe Xpress
0 comment

The recipients of national awards for the years 2019, 2020, and 2021, have finally been presented with their honours after the COVID-19 pandemic forced the cancellation of in person presentation ceremonies.

Separate events were held on Monday to formally present the honourees with their awards.

Seven people – two women and five men – were presented their insignias for the honour of Knighthoods at a ceremony on the lawn of Government House on Monday.

This was followed in the afternoon by the ceremony for the recipients of other awards.

Grand Master of the Chancery of the Orders and Decorations of Antigua and Barbuda, Governor General Sir Rodney Williams, congratulated the national honourees for making the decision to contribute to the public good.

“I am therefore very proud to present you with a national honour in recognition of your distinguished service to this great nation of ours.

“Throughout our nation’s history, the Antiguan and Barbudan story has been strengthened by those who combine an optimism about what can be possible with the resilience to turn that vision into reality,” he remarked.

Sir Rodney assured the honourees that he was not alone in applauding those who are willing to step up and serve the communities and country.

“Such patriots are essential to the ongoing work of perfecting the development of our island nation so that it can be preserved so that future generations can enjoy an enhanced quality of life.

“Honourees, by sharing your time, talents, resources and passion in a range of sectors, you are delivering solutions to the challenges we face – solutions that we need now more than ever as we arise from a period of severe testing,” he said.

Two people were named among the Order of the Nation awardees. Sir Molwyn Joseph, Knight Grand Cross of the order of the Nation, (KGCN) and Dame Lorna Simon, Dame Cross of the Order of the Nation (DCN). These awards were announced in 2020.

In 2021, Sir Hayden Thomas received the Knight Grand Cross of the order of the Nation award while Dame Ruby B. V. Lake-Richards was awarded DGCN.

Sir Joseph John, Sir Reginald Walwyn and Sir Robert Shoul were awarded KCN in 2021.

In 2019, Ronald Randall was named Commander of the Most Distinguished Order of the Nation (CN), Dr. Dwayne Thwaites, Order of Merit (OM). Glasford Francis, OM, Wilbur Purcell, OM, Glendina Jacobs, Member of the Most Illustrious Order of Merit (MM) and Junior Martin, Most Precious Order of Princely Heritage (MH).

The awardees for 2020 were Winston Gomes, Grand Officer of the Illustrious Order of Merit (GOM), Clancy Mack, Officer of the Most Illustrious Order of Princely Heritage (OH), Keith Frederick, OH, Anderson Joseph MM, Avery Henry, MM, Lt. Carla P. Thomas-Browne, MM, Nurse Soria Dupie-Winston, MM, Corporal Timothy Philip, Jr., MM, and Wesley Simon, MM.

In 2021 the honourees were Cora Huggins, GCM, Dame Grand Collar of the Most Illustrious Order of Merit (GCM), Elma Benjamin, GCM, Felicity Richards-Aymer, GCM, Violet Lewis, GCM, Dr. Lester Emanuel, OM, Oliver Joseph, OM, Rosannette Kirby, OM and Michael Rose, OH.

Glendina Jacobs

Knackbill Nedd

Dr. Dwayne Thwaites All received their National Awards on Monday

You may also like

error: Content is protected !!