Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Telecommunications Commission to Advance Mobile Number Portability

Monday 3rd June, 2019-The Minister of Telecommunications says the country’s move to mobile number portability will gather pace when the Telecommunications Commission comes into being.

The assurance comes as number portability was launched today in five ECTEL member states, namely The Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

Mobile Number Portability enables consumers to keep their current mobile telephone numbers when switching from one mobile telephone operator to another.

Antigua and Barbuda is not at the level with the five countries where the new service comes into effect. Minister Melford Nicholas says it is not a simple process, but the country is on course to achieving mobile number portability. However, the local commission must be in place in accordance with the Telecommunications Act.


Minister Nicholas though not committing to a time frame, assured the implementation of mobile number portability won’t be drawn out for years.

The telecommunication minister declined to name the chairman and members that will make up the telecommunications commission, stating that in short order the names will be made public.

Antigua and Barbuda currently holds observer status with the Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority (ECTEL). Minister Melford Nicholas was asked when will the country become a full member of the sub-region’s Telecommunications Authority.

error: Content is protected !!