Home Local News Shamara Yearwood is Named Island Scholar

Shamara Yearwood is Named Island Scholar

by Pointe FM'S Editor
0 comment

Monday 22nd October, 2018-The Ministry of Education, Science and Technology has announced Shamara Jada Yearwood as the 2018 Island Scholar.

In a statement, the Ministry outlined that Yearwood, a former student of Antigua State College, now enrolled at Columbia University in the United States was named, “following a careful review of the 2018 CAPE/ Edexcel/Cambridge results and rigorously applying the relevant criteria for determination.”

As Island Scholar, Shamara Yearwood will be awarded a US $ 20,000 scholarship annually from the Board of Education for undergraduate studies.

Additionally, four Antiguans and Barbudans have been named as Proxim Scholarship recipients.

Jerry Aska

Jerry Aska (St. Anthony’s Secondary School), Sonique Phillip (Antigua State College), Lucia Elizabeth Murray (St. Anthony’s Secondary School), and Yvana Ephraim (Antigua State College) will each receive US $ 10,000 annually towards their higher education studies.

Director of Education, Clare Browne, has offered congratulations to the 2018 Island Scholar and to the four Proxim Scholarship recipients.


Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!

You may also like

error: Content is protected !!