Home Local News British Diplomatic Post To Open in Antigua

British Diplomatic Post To Open in Antigua

by Pointe FM'S Editor
0 comment

Thursday 19th April, 2018-The United Kingdom has announced the opening of 9 new diplomatic posts across the Commonwealth, with Antigua and Barbuda being among the list of countries where British Resident Commissioners will be dispatched.

Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson said the new posts will extend Britain’s global influence.

In a statement, Johnson outlined that as a Commonwealth family of nations, it is in their shared interest to boost prosperity, tackle security issues and clear up the environment.

The new diplomatic posts he said are in regions which provide huge potential and opportunity post-Brexit for British businesses and will help to deepen relationships across the Commonwealth.

Boris Johnson pointed out that after they leave the EU, Global Britain will remain outward facing, open for business and a champion of the rules-based international order.

The other countries named where diplomatic posts will be opened are:

  • Lesotho
  • Swaziland
  • The Bahamas
  • Grenada
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Tonga
  • Vanuatu

Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson said:

Britain has one of the largest diplomatic footprints in the world. The UK’s overseas network is instrumental in promoting our national interest, particularly post-Brexit. The expanded network puts Britain in peak position to enhance military cooperation, boost trade and provide services to the rapidly expanding middle classes of the developing world.

You may also like

error: Content is protected !!